COVID-19 Level 1 Update

Under Alert Level 1, the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame is now OPEN. Our hours are 10am to 3pm (Wednesdays to Sundays). We are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays (open by appointment only on these days).
Softball Women, 1982
Inducted in 1999
The New Zealand women’s softball team won the International Softball Federation’s fifth world championships in Taiwan in 1982.
Sporting Category:
  • Softball
Twenty-three teams took part in four sections, with New Zealand finishing first in their section despite a loss.

They were unbeaten in post-section play and beat Chinese-Taipei 2-0 in the final.

They played 11 games for 10 wins and a loss. Team members were:
  • Maahi Baker
  • Jane Earnshaw
  • Rita Fatialofa
  • Karen Fraser
  • Natalie Hazelwood
  • Cheryl Kemp
  • Lesley Monk
  • Carol Moore
  • Vicki Murray
  • Debbie Mygind
  • Penny Salton
  • Naomi Shaw (captain)
  • Robyn Storer
  • Edith Tuavera
  • Gina Weber
  • Deslea Wrathall

Sporting Spotlight

Billy Murphy

(1862 - 1939)

His proper name was Thomas William Murphy but he was known more as “Torpedo Billy”, the only New Zealand-born boxer (he was born in Auckland) to hold a world boxing title.
Our Sponsors
New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame
Railway Station
Anzac Avenue
Dunedin 9016
New Zealand
Close menu

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with stylesheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so. The latest version of Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome or Internet Explorer will work best if you're after a new browser.