Bruce McLaren
Inducted in 1990
Bruce McLaren was a talented, innovative motor racing driver whose success was measured by four Formula One grand prix wins from 103 starts and perhaps more notably, by founding the most successful team in Formula One history.
Sporting Category:
  • Motorsport
McLaren won his first grand prix in his first year, 1959, and won the opening race of the following season in 1960, but he then took a secondary role to his boss, Jack Brabham.

McLaren formed his own team in 1964 and was joined by world champion and compatriot Denny Hulme in 1968.

They not only raced in Formula One, but McLarens were also the dominant marque in the American CanAm sports car series for the rest of the decade.

McLaren had a reputation for consistency and safety, which made it ironic that he was killed while testing one of the CanAm cars in England in 1970.

His name lived on in the team that created an indelible place in grand prix history and through the McLaren Trust, based in Auckland.

Sporting Spotlight

Philippa Baker-Hogan and Brenda Lawson

Baker (1963 -), Lawson (1967 -)

Individually and together, Philippa Baker-Hogan and Brenda Lawson were world leaders in rowing in the early 1990s. Between them, they won 47 national premier titles and Baker-Hogan became the first female New Zealander to win a world title when she won the lightweight single sculls in 1991.
Our Sponsors
New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame
Railway Station
Anzac Avenue
Dunedin 9016
New Zealand
Close menu

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with stylesheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so. The latest version of Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome or Internet Explorer will work best if you're after a new browser.