COVID-19 Level 1 Update

Under Alert Level 1, the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame is now OPEN. Our hours are 10am to 3pm (Wednesdays to Sundays). We are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays (open by appointment only on these days).
Philippa Baker-Hogan and Brenda Lawson
Inducted in 2012
Individually and together, Philippa Baker-Hogan and Brenda Lawson were world leaders in rowing in the early 1990s. Between them, they won 47 national premier titles and Baker-Hogan became the first female New Zealander to win a world title when she won the lightweight single sculls in 1991.
Sporting Category:
  • Rowing
Lawson, who had been an under 23 world champion, teamed up with Baker for them to win consecutive world double sculls titles in 1993 and 1994, adding a bronze medal in 1995.

They were the New Zealand Sports Team of the Year and the Halberg Award winners in 1994. Baker had earlier won the Sportsman of the Year award (as it was then known) in 1991.

Each of them has also been New Zealand Rower of the Year and Lawson won the Lonsdale Cup for outstanding achievement in an Olympic sport in 1993.

Sporting Spotlight

Billy Webb

(1880 - 1960)

Webb was the first of a long line of great New Zealand oarsmen.
Our Sponsors
New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame
Railway Station
Anzac Avenue
Dunedin 9016
New Zealand
Close menu

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with stylesheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so. The latest version of Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome or Internet Explorer will work best if you're after a new browser.