New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame > Inductees > Softball Women, 1982

Softball Women, 1982

Softball Women, 1982
The New Zealand women’s softball team won the International Softball Federation’s fifth world championships in Taiwan in 1982.

Twenty-three teams took part in four sections, with New Zealand finishing first in their section despite a loss.

They were unbeaten in post-section play and beat Chinese-Taipei 2-0 in the final.

They played 11 games for 10 wins and a loss. Team members were:
  • Maahi Baker
  • Jane Earnshaw
  • Rita Fatialofa
  • Karen Fraser
  • Natalie Hazelwood
  • Cheryl Kemp
  • Lesley Monk
  • Carol Moore
  • Vicki Murray
  • Debbie Mygind
  • Penny Salton
  • Naomi Shaw (captain)
  • Robyn Storer
  • Edith Tuavera
  • Gina Weber
  • Deslea Wrathall
Bookmark this page to:Add to Twitter Add to Facebook Add to Digg Add to Google Bookmarks Add to Reddit Add to StumbleUpon Add to Delicious

Available to buy online from the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame...

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with stylesheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so. The latest version of Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome or Internet Explorer will work best if you're after a new browser.